The Discovery of Quiche

14 Nov

Aloha to all you chicks with whisk out there,

For a long time I’ve fallen into the habit of eating my feelings, and compulsively stuffing my face with whatever happened to be at hand, through this unrestricted method of eating I’ve come to familiarize myself with a stunning range of the finest cuisine.  However, in all my food wanderings I have never chanced upon perhaps the best food I have tasted in a very long-time, quiche.

The very name brings a sort of sweet tingle to your lips doesn’t it? I can’t quite fathom how I’ve gone so long without knowing the happiness that quiche brings.  But what is quiche? Until yesterday it was a mystery to me. Quiche is a French dish, perhaps the greatest contribution of France to the world.  It’s like a strange hybrid of casserole and pie, which are too of the greatest things in the world. It’s light and fluffy as you nibble but completely filling nonetheless. It’s a dish based on a custard and made by adding eggs, milk and whatever else you want to throw into the mix, vegetables, meat, cheese, you name it! Quiche is probably one of the most versatile foods on the face of the planet, you can pretty much make it however you want. You can eat it anytime of day, whether it’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. And if it was up to me from now on I would have it at every meal! In the past three days I’ve eaten brocclili quiche, egg quiche, and mushroom quiche!  And I want more! So here’s a recipe for classic quiche if you want to give it a shot:

The mother of all quiche is named “Quiche Lorraine”:

1 pre-made pie pastry for a 9 inch single crust pie
* 12 slices bacon
* 1 cup shredded Swiss cheese
* 1/3 cup chopped green onion
* 4 eggs, beaten
* 2 cups light cream
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
* 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions:

. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit
2. Place bacon in a large skillet, and fry over medium heat until crisp. Drain on paper towels, then chop coarsely. Sprinkle bacon, cheese and onion into pastry shell.
3. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, salt, and cayenne pepper. Pour mixture into pastry shell.
4. Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Reduce heat to 300 degrees F, and bake an additional 30 minutes, or until a knife inserted 1 inch from edge comes out clean. Allow quiche to sit 10 minutes before cutting into wedges.

In the future I hope to do some major experimentation with Quiche. My kitchen should prepare to be blown away, literally.

So grab your whisks and get to it!

2 Responses to “The Discovery of Quiche”

  1. Agnes Claire November 19, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    i eat my feelings too! and now i have a recipe to make some quiche. YAYYY!

    • wizikitheguru November 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

      Agnes your awesome! And everybody should have a recipe for quiche it’s the most awesome thing on the face of the planet

Leave a Reply

