Snickerdoodles

20 Nov

For post 1 of the Thanksgiving series, I thought that cookies would be appropriate and–oh! Look what I made yesterday! SNICKERDOODLES! What a happy coincidence.

Snickerdoodles are definitely one of my favorite kinds of cookies. They are simple, yet delicate and airy, crunchy, and have a great cinnamon flavor from their coating (when properly made). Also, I love the pseudo-half dome shape of the classic Snickerdoodle cookie, because it sets them a little bit apart from all the other boring, flat, chocolate-chip cookies. And also, their name? Um, awesome! “Snickerdoodle”? Who came up with that? Hmmm…*type type type*

The Joy of Cooking claims that snickerdoodles are probably German in origin, and that the name is a corruption of the German word Schneckennudeln, which means “snail noodles.”[1] A different author suggests that the word “snicker” comes from the Dutch word snekrad, or the German word Schnecke, which both describe a snail shape.[2] Yet another hypothesis suggests that the name has no particular meaning or purpose [3] and is simply a whimsically named cookie that originated from a New England tradition of fanciful cookie names.[4] There is also a series of tall tales about a hero named “Snickerdoodle” from the early 1900s which may be related to the name of the cookie.[5]

Ah, I love Wikipedia. 🙂

Anyway, this recipe was collected from some sort of publication at least 15 years ago, and although we don’t make cookies all that often, we keep it in our little book of recipes in the cupboard for occasional, blissful use. I can see why; it’s a very good recipe. I made some slight adjustments, but really, a snickerdoodle is a snickerdoodle and there isn’t all that much to mess with. I just replaced the shortening with margerine (because shortening kinda creeps me out) and reduced the amount of butter a little bit. They came out very well, not too dry. The tops were deliciously coated with cinnamony sugar and had cracked in some places and baked open to reveal the light, crunchy interior with its sweet and–I have to stop. Too painful. Please excuse me.

I have to warn you, these cookies are ridiculously addictive. Add that to their small size–it’s NEVER ENOUGH!!!–and you have danger with a cinnamon exterior. (I got “I just can’t keep my hands off these” and people begging me to take them away.) Oh my god, I had one straight out of the oven, and it took every single ounce of my willpower not to cave and stuff them all in my face at once. They were sitting there on the baking rack, surrounded by their own unfairly delicious aroma, with warmth radiating off of them and the aftertaste of my first one still lingering in my mouth…let me suffice to say that it was a long night. *ahem*

I like my Snickerdoodles pretty crunchy, but you could definitely reduce the cooking time by a minute or two for a softer cookie.

Snickerdoodles


(makes about 6 dozen cookies, which is a BOATLOAD. I would suggest a half-recipe.)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups white sugar

7  tablespoons butter, softened

8 tablespoons margerine, softened

2 eggs

2 3/4 cups unbleached flour

2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons sugar

3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 400°. Combine 1 1/2 cups sugar, the butter, margerine, and eggs in a large bowl. Make sure to mix until all the lumps of butter are gone. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Do not overmix. Shape rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls.

Mix the 3 TB sugar and cinnamon in a small dish, and roll the balls of dough in the mixture. Arrange, about 2 inches apart, on a parchment papered, ungreased cookie sheet. Bake until set, about 9-14 minutes, depending on how crunchy you want them. (Take them out before they really start to brown or they will be too crunchy.) Immediately remove from cookie sheet and place on a rack to cool; restrain from placing more than three at once in your mouth.

2 Responses to “Snickerdoodles”

  1. LoveLace November 21, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Argh! I shouldn’t have rd this! Now I’m craving snickerdoodles!

  2. lecoupdefoudre1 November 24, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Your snickerdoodles are really perfectly shaped.

    mine are flat.

Leave a Reply

