Leftovers Friday

26 Nov

In my personal opinion, “Black Friday” should be renamed “Leftovers Friday”, because that’s what it really is. Despite the amazing amount of food that we managed to cram down last night, we still have a large batch of leftovers to get rid of…and I don’t know about you, but I for one am planning on using every ounce of my creativity AND every ounce of the scrumptious leftover turkey married together to get some amazing meals.

Course, we haven’t gotten there yet. Today’s super creative lunch we called–wait for it–“second thanksgiving”.We had turkey and stuffing and mashed potatoes and (curiously smoke-flavored) yams and gravy and cranberry salsa and green bean casserole.

Okay, the whole creativity bit starts now.

…anyway, I feel kind of like crap today because of, you know, Thanksgiving recuperation, in addition to the fact that I went to the doctor today and they did that weird creepy bubble-under-the-skin shot thing to me. I don’t appreciate it when people stab me with needles. So I’ve pretty much spent the day lounging around, working, and cleaning up. I’m also going to a party this evening–how very sociable of me–which means I’m going to miss the tree-lighting. Oh well.

In accordance with my sluggish mood, the recipe today is actually from yesterday, but I was so caught up in the yams story that I didn’t post it. It’s truly a Thanksgiving staple for my family–it’s our version of the cranberry sauce, only ours is a salsa and is called…

Cranberry-Orange Salsa

It’s really more like a fruit salad than a salsa. You’re supposed to eat it just with a fork. It has a really great, fresh, unique taste. Definitely a must-try.

Ingredients:

1 pound cranberries, fresh or frozen (thawed)

1 C sugar

2 t grated orange zest

3 Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into quarters

3 oranges, seeded, pulled into segments, and chopped into little wedges

2 jalapenos, stemmed, seeded, and minced

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 bunch green onions, trimmed and chopped

Directions:

Finely chop cranberries in food processor. Place in a large bowl. Chop apples in food processor next, and put them in the bowl with the cranberries. Combine the chopped cranberry-and-apple mixture with all the other ingredients and mix well. Set aside at room temperature for one hour, then chill.

 

happy leftovers friday, everyone! WAIT–oh my goodness! it’s leftovers friday? that means–that means–that it’s officially THE CHRISTMAS SEASON! YIPPEEEE!!! Yessssssss. 😀

Leave a Reply

