FUDGE!!!

22 Dec

After I set up one of my nativity scenes, I realized how desperately I needed some fudge! So, after turning up the Christmas music, and of course getting the right ingredients for fudge, I set off to make some fudge.  I always use the recipe on the back of one of the Ghiradelli bars, but I searched and it wasn’t there! What was I supposed to do?! So I made up something.  I hope it’s decent. Whatever way you end up making fudge, whether you have your own recipe, or you have the guts to try this, make some fudge.  Because it’s delicious, and simple, and chocolately, and delicious, and perfect!  This one didn’t quite reach the correct hardness, but it tasted normal, at least I think it did!

Ingredients:

2 bars of Ghiradelli (or another brand) 60% bittersweet chocolate

1 bag of Ghiradelli (or anything else…) of semi sweet chocolate chips (any size)

1 and 1/3 cans (14 oz I believe) of condensed milk

approximately 2 tsp of vanilla extract

Directions:

Melt a bar and a half of chocolate in a bowl.  Add about half or 3/4 of the bag of chocolate chips and melt those in it.  Add the vanilla.  Mix in 1 and 1/4 of the cans of condensed milk.  Line a glass dish with wax paper, and fill the dish (I used two dishes, but my fudge is a bit thin) with the mixture.  In a separate bowl, melt the remaining chocolate (1/2 a bar and 1/4 of the chocolate chip bag) in a bowl, and add around *2 tbsp of condensed milk (if you do not add the condensed milk, the fudge can be more of a fudge bark, which would probably be delicious).  Pour/place this on top of the fudge, and then put your fudge in the refrigerator for a few hours, or until very hard.

After that, remove the fudge by taking the wax paper out of the dish, and dumping it on to a plate, with the smooth bottom side up.  Cut into whatever sizes you wish, and ENJOY!!!

photo credit to orangechef!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Leave a Reply

