Apple of my Eye

3 Jan

I made muffins yesterday as mournful farewell gesture. Not a farewell to arms but a farewell to vacation. Let us have a moment of silence.

So yesterday I went to the kitchen with a mission! My mission was to eat any sweet treat available! Unfortunately due to certain healthy new years resolutions there was nothing at all sweet unless I was going to eat the bag of sugar! I thought about it for am minute but in the end decided against it keeping in mind the many ramifications that would probably be coming my way if  I did. There were however many fruits to choose from and lots of flour so I cracked open the Betty Crocker cookbook and got to work!

These Apple Muffins are so simple and quick a caveman could make them!  This is all you need.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 large egg

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup chopped apple (I used a Red delicious)

Simple as that!

Now there were a lot of directions after that but who has time to read all that fine print? So here’s what I did!

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. Put whole apple in food processor and run until the apple has been chopped into pea sized bits

3. Chuck apple and other ingredients into a mixing bowl of your choice

3. Mix everything with a wooden spoon (seriously I recommend mixing with a wooden spoon because I’ve mixed it with a machine and it didn’t turn out well and I mixed it with a whisk and it didn’t turn out well)

4.  When all of the flour has seemingly dissolved and the batter is somewhat bumpy start pouring it into the muffin cups!

5. Put muffin pan and bake for 25- 30 mins or until the muffins are golden brown!

The result will be scrumptious muffins that will probably disappear quickly especially if you have other family members who like to sneak down for a midnight snack (but I’m just speaking hypothetically…shifty eyes…..)  If you run into any problems when making these here’s what probably happened.

Problem                             Cause

Didn’t rise                         Too much mixing or maybe you didn’t put in baking powder

Tough                                 Too much mixing or you didn’t put in enough fat

Tunnels                              Too much mixing

Compact                            Too much flour or too little baking powder

Wow I feel like the number one cause of problems here is too much mixing!

Ok hope you enjoy the New Year!  I’m going to go enjoy these muffins!

-LoveLace

Leave a Reply

