Chocolat (Covered Peanut Butter Rice Krispie) Balls

12 Jan

I’m a little late, considering that these cookies are holiday cookies, but they’re good any time!  I was at my grandmother’s house, three days after Christmas 2009, and having my annual tradition of eating all of her leftover cookies from Christmas.  She had at least 8 different kinds of cookies, and most of them were familiar to me.  Then, however, she took out another Tupperware, containing three spherical chocolates.  Of course I tried them before even asking what they were!  I bit through the chocolate shell to find a sweet center with peanut butter and crunchy rice krispies! She gave me the recipe and I’ve made them a few times since

I made them right after New Years this year, and entirely by myself for the first time, which was scary.  Usually I let someone else do the dunking part, since I’m really not very good at that.  My grandmother’s recipe makes around 88 cookies, so I always cut it in half, although for some bizarre reason, this time I made them, it didn’t seem to make 44, which was especially strange since I made them small.  What? Are you accusing me of eating an excessive amount of the cookies before they were finished?! Ok, maybe a little 😉

My favorite cookies tend to be ones that you can snag little pieces of throughout the process, and these really are!  Ok ok, enough talking, more FOOD

Why yes, I do have a heart shaped cookie sheet 🙂

Chocolat Balls:

Serves 88

1 stick of butter (melted)

2 cups of peanut butter

3 cups of rice krispie cereal

1 pound of confectioners sugar

11 ounces of milk chocolate

16 ounces of chocolate chips

Directions: combine sugar, peanut butter, and cereal in a large bowl–mix with hands!  Roll into small balls and place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Refrigerate for an hour.  Melt the milk chocolate and the chocolate chips together in a bowl, and dip the chilled cookies into the chocolate (trick: the colder the cookies are, the easier this is).  Refrigerate again until the chocolate forms a hard shell–approximately another hour.

AND ENJOY

 

Leave a Reply

